Cookie Settings

Updated February 28, 2024

The Board of Directors of the Diocese of Olympia, Inc., exercises legal and fiduciary responsibility for the assets of the diocese, including land, buildings, endowments and other funds. It is the mission of the Board to manage these assets to further God’s work in western Washington, both now and in the future.

Our bishop, The Most Rev Melissa Skelton, serves as Board president. Mr. Marc Malone serves as vice president and Board chair. Members include the diocesan Treasurer, Chancellor, and Secretary to Convention, plus nine appointed members, both clergy and lay, who serve in rotating three-year terms. Current Board members are listed below. Additional duties of individual members include:

  • representing the Board on the Diocesan Investment Fund committee and the Joint Finance Panel;
  • reviewing the annual diocesan audit;
  • serving as mentors to congregations applying for loans; and,
  • oversight of Huston Camp & Conference Center, St. Andrew’s House, Diocesan House, Bishop’s House, the Chapel of St. Bernard, and Whatcom and Orchards properties.

Over time these legal and fiduciary responsibilities benefit almost every congregation and institution in the diocese.

  • The Building Loan Fund lends congregations money for new construction and major capital improvements; favorable interest rates are set annually based on the prime interest rate. As of the first quarter of 2012, the Building Loan Fund assets total $5.2 million, of which $3.9 million is currently loaned out.
  • The Mission Development Fund lends money for land purchases; as of the first quarter of 2012 its balance totals $900,000, of which $860,000 is loaned out. When the time is right for a diocesan capital campaign, both funds will be increased.

Beyond these two revolving funds, the Board oversees diocesan properties worth a total of $32.5 million, including properties occupied by missions; administers bequests left to mission congregations; and through the Diocesan Investment Fund manages a portfolio of diocesan, congregation and institutional investments valued at $45 million, as of the first quarter of 2012.

The Board meets on the third Thursdays of each month, 3:00-6:30pm; the Board does not meet in July.

Requests for additional assistance should be addressed to Canon Dede Moore, Canon for Diocesan Networking and Connections. The Board can be reached at

Current members of the Board of Directors:

  • The Most Rev Melissa Skelton | Bishop Provisional | President
  • Dan Renfroe | St. Benedict’s, Lacey | Vice President & Chair (2025)
  • Jim Beckwith | St. Paul’s, Bellingham | Diocesan Treasurer
  • Judith Andrews | Diocesan Chancellor
  • The Rev. Canon Marda Steedman Sanborn | Secretary of Convention
  • Joe Jennings | Ascension, Seattle (2026)
  • The Rev Doyt Conn | Epiphany Parish, Seattle (2025)
  • Jeff Maxwell | St. Aidan’s, Camano Island (2024)
  • Christi McCarren | Christ Church, Tacoma ((2026)
  • Ron Miller | Good Shepherd, Vancouver (2023)
  • The Rev. Katherine Sedwick | St. Michael & All Angels, Issaquah (2024)
  • Vicki Setzer | All Saints, Vancouver (2024)

Others with seat and voice

  • The Rev. Canon Arienne Davison | Canon to the Ordinary
  • Bryan Krislock | Vice Chancellor
  • Canon Dede Moore | Canon for Diocesan Networking and Connections
  • The Rev. Dennis Tierney | Diocesan Property Manager
  • Charles Thorne | Canon for Finance
  • Minutes: Erik Bauer | Archivist

Per Bylaws: 2 clergy, 6 lay


Earthquake Preparedness