Cookie Settings

While decisions for this year’s diocesan convention are being finalized, the Nominations Committee is beginning its process to identify candidates for election to Diocesan Council and the Standing Committee at convention. The Nominations Committee is working now to identify a diverse group of qualified candidates for the following positions:

For Diocesan Council (by region) for 3-year terms:

  • Lay representatives from Evergreen, Be Attitudes, and Columbia regions
  • Clergy representatives from Eastside, Peninsula, and Sno-Isle regions
  • Clergy representative from Rainier for 2-year unexpired term (NEW announcment)
  • Note: Incumbents from Rainier (lay) and Willapa (clergy) are standing for reelection.

For the Standing Committee (at-large representatives):

  • 1 Lay representative for 4-year term
  • 1 Clergy representative for 4-year term
  • 1 Clergy representative to complete a 1-year unexpired term

Lay candidates for nomination must be adult communicants in good standing associated with a parish or mission congregation of the diocese. According to our diocesan canons, a communicant is a baptized person who is faithful in corporate worship and has received the Sacrament of Holy Communion in this church at least three times during the preceding 12 months; communicants 16 years of age and older are considered adult communicants. A Communicant in Good Standing is a one who is a recorded contributor to the support of the church with money or with personal service, as determined by the rector or vicar of the congregation.

Clergy candidates for nomination must be canonically-resident in this diocese.

Future newsletters will highlight the specific responsibilities of those serving on Diocesan Council and Standing Committee. For now, it might be useful to know that both these councils are currently meeting online via Zoom. Attending through Zoom has been and will continue to be an option for all representatives so that geography is not a barrier to participating in the governance of our diocese.

Members of the Nominations Committee this year include Ms. Jan Akin (Willapa), the Rev. Rilla Barrett (Mt. Baker), Ms. Becky Clark (Evergreen), Mr. Michael Perera (Holy C), the Rev. Nic Mather (Columbia), and the Rev. Edie Weller (convenor).

We’re asking your assistance in identifying a diverse group of qualified candidates. If you’d like to propose someone to serve on either of these governing bodies, we encourage you to email the Committee at by Friday, August 7. Our goal is to identify and confirm the slate of nominees by Tuesday, September 8 (45 days prior to the proposed date of convention). By canon, additional nominees may be recognized at convention.

If you have questions about this process, please contact Edie Weller at, and also refer to forthcoming materials from the Office of the Bishop for this year’s convention. Thank you very much for your help in this process on behalf of our diocese!

Announcing the Call for Nominations for 2020 Diocesan Election

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *